Internet Architecture Board


Emergency Services

Note: The Emergency Services Program concluded in April 2016.


Through the ECRIT and GEOPRIV Working Groups, the IETF has for many years been actively engaged in standardization work relating to “next generation” (IP-based) emergency services.  As communities around the world transition to next-generation emergency services infrastructure, there is a need to ensure that localities, countries, and governments understand the emergency services architecture developed by the IETF and how it can be leveraged to enable Internet-based emergency communications. This Program will coordinate IETF communications and global outreach related to emergency services, as opportunities for the IETF to provide input and expertise proliferate.  This Program will also identify groups who have examined emergency services architectures and have identified gaps, and will take input from them.


IAB members

  • Mary Barnes (Lead)
  • Ted Hardie

Non-IAB members

  • Bernard Aboba
  • Richard Barnes
  • Alissa Cooper
  • Roger Hixson
  • Andrew Hutton
  • Marc Linsner
  • Cristina Lumbreras
  • Gary Machado
  • Roger Marshall
  • Natasha Rooney
  • Brian Rosen
  • Christine Runnegar
  • Henning Schulzrinne
  • Richard Shockey
  • Hannes Tschofenig
  • James Winterbottom

Work Items:

  • Identify organizations active in the emergency services area worldwide.
  • Develop formal and informal relationships with organizations identified above, to ensure a better information flow regarding relevant activities.
  • Develop a high-level document that can be used to explain the IETF emergency services architecture to non-technical experts.
  • Identify gaps and potential new work within the Emergency Services architecture.  The technical work itself will be done within the IETF.


  • Letter to the European Commission on Global Interoperability in Emergency Services
  • Face-to-face meetings and conference calls of the program members to share information about ongoing activities (e.g., ETSI M493, FCC EAAC, and FCC CSRIC)