Internet Architecture Board


RFC 7749 on The “xml2rfc” Version 2 Vocabulary

The IAB has published RFC 7749: The “xml2rfc” Version 2 Vocabulary. Abstract: This document defines the “xml2rfc” version 2 vocabulary: an XML-based language used for writing RFCs and Internet-Drafts.  Version 2 represents the state of the vocabulary (as implemented by several tools and as used by the RFC Editor) around 2014.  This document obsoletes RFC […]

NomCom Announces IAB Appointments

On 25 January 2016, the NomCom announced the selection of the IAB slate whose terms will start at IETF 95 in April 2016: Brian Trammell (incumbent) Erik Nordmark (incumbent) Joe Hildebrand (incumbent) Lee Howard Martin Thomson Ted Hardie (incumbent) The IAB thanks outgoing members Mary Barnes and Marc Blanchet for their years of service to […]

Comments from the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) on “Registration Data Access Protocol (RDAP) Operational Profile for gTLD Registries and Registrars”

On 13 January 2016, the IAB responded to ICANN’s public comment proceeding on Registration Data Access Protocol (RDAP) Operational Profile for gTLD Registries and Registrars. The text of those comments can be found at

IAB Seeks Feedback on ICANN Technical Liaison Group Candidates

The IAB recently requested nominations to the ICANN Technical Liaison Group (TLG).  We have a number of candidates, and we are soliciting comment from the community on these candidates. The following candidates have put their names forward: Linda Dunbar Warren Kumari Please send your remarks in confidence about any or all candidates to and […]

RFC 7687 on Report from the Strengthening the Internet (STRINT) Workshop

The IAB has published RFC 7687: Report from the Strengthening the Internet (STRINT) Workshop. Abstract: The Strengthening the Internet (STRINT) workshop assembled one hundred participants in London for two days in early 2014 to discuss how the technical community, and in particular the IETF and the W3C, should react to Pervasive Monitoring and more generally […]