Internet Architecture Board


IAB Minutes 2008-09-24

Home»Documents»Minutes»Minutes 2008»IAB Minutes 2008-09-24

Minutes IAB Teleconference 2008-09-24

1. Roll-call, agenda-bash, approval of minutes, administrivia

1.1. Agenda

1.2. Attendance


Loa Anderson (IAB Liaison to the IESG)
Gonzalo Camarillo
Stuart Cheshire
Lars Eggert (IESG Liaison to the IAB)
Aaron Falk (IRTF Chair)
Gregory Lebovitz
Barry Leiba
Kurtis Lindqvist
Andy Malis
David Oran
Dow Street (IAB Executive Director)
Dave Thaler
Lixia Zhang


Sandy Ginoza (RFC Editor Liaison)
Russ Housley (IETF Chair)
Olaf Kolkman (IAB Chair)
Danny McPherson
Lynn St. Amour (ISOC Liaison)

2. Routing Research Group (RRG) Review

At this tech chat Lixia led a technical discussion and review of
recent work in the RRG. The RRG has been quite active over the
last year exploring architectural approaches to addressing the
challenges facing Internet inter-domain routing. There are several
(partly) overlapping problems in this space, including host and
site multihoming, traffic engineering, and support for mobility.
The proposals so far can be roughly divided into the two classes
of “separation” and “elimination” of non-aggregatable addresses
in the global routing table (i.e., Default-Free Zone). There was
significant IAB interest in the topic and further discussion was
planned for an upcoming IAB meeting.