Internet Architecture Board


Comments from the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) on “Registration Data Access Protocol (RDAP) Operational Profile for gTLD Registries and Registrars”

On 13 January 2016, the IAB responded to ICANN’s public comment proceeding on Registration Data Access Protocol (RDAP) Operational Profile for gTLD Registries and Registrars. The text of those comments can be found at

IAB Seeks Feedback on ICANN Technical Liaison Group Candidates

The IAB recently requested nominations to the ICANN Technical Liaison Group (TLG).  We have a number of candidates, and we are soliciting comment from the community on these candidates.

The following candidates have put their names forward:

  • Linda Dunbar
  • Warren Kumari

Please send your remarks in confidence about any or all candidates to and by Wednesday, 20 January 2016.  We  thank you in advance for your help.

RFC 7687 on Report from the Strengthening the Internet (STRINT) Workshop

The IAB has published RFC 7687: Report from the Strengthening the Internet (STRINT) Workshop.

Abstract: The Strengthening the Internet (STRINT) workshop assembled one hundred participants in London for two days in early 2014 to discuss how the technical community, and in particular the IETF and the W3C, should react to Pervasive Monitoring and more generally how to strengthen the Internet in the face of such attacks.  The discussions covered issues of terminology, the role of user interfaces, classes of mitigation, some specific use cases, transition strategies (including opportunistic encryption), and more.  The workshop ended with a few high-level recommendations, that it is believed could be implemented and could help strengthen the Internet.  This is the report of that workshop.

Note that this document is a report on the proceedings of the workshop.  The views and positions documented in this report are those of the workshop participants and do not necessarily reflect IAB views and positions.

Call for nominations: IETF appointment to the ISOC Board of Trustees

The Internet Society (ISOC) provides organizational and financial  support for the IETF. As part of the arrangements between ISOC and the  IETF, the IETF is called upon to name 4 Trustees to its Board (BoT),  with staggered 3-year terms.  This requires that the IETF select one Trustee in 2016.

This year, the IAB will select 1 person for a term beginning in mid-2016 and ending in mid-2019. Continue reading

Volunteer Needed for ICANN Technical Liaison Group

On behalf of the IETF, the IAB names two technical experts to ICANN Technical Liaison Group (TLG).  The ICANN Bylaws (Article XI-A, Section 2, Paragraph 6) asks the IETF, ITU-T, ETSI, and W3C to each provide two technical experts.  The technical experts are expected to be “familiar with the technical standards issues that are relevant to ICANN’s activities.” These eight experts are expected to be “available as necessary to determine, through an exchange of e-mail messages, where  to direct a technical question from ICANN when ICANN does not ask a  specific TLG organization directly.”

The ICANN bylaws can be found at

The current experts are Warren Kumari (term ends January 2016) and Paul  Wouters (term ends 2017). Warren Kumari has indicated that he is willing  to serve again. The IAB would like to see whether others are interested  in serving in this capacity. Continue reading

Report from the IAB at IETF 94

Dear colleagues,

This is the report from the IAB to the community about our activities since IETF 93. We’re taking the occasion of the compressed plenary to move more of our reporting to this email, which we’ll send before meetings. Of course, we encourage as ever discussion of things you want to raise in the plenary. We hope, however, that providing this in advance will allow you more time to prepare any questions you have about our activities, while allowing us to concentrate in the plenary on things we think raise issues or are most important for the community to think about. We want to know whether this new approach is agreeable. Let us know at the mic, or else send mail to You can do that about any other issue in this report too. In general, we value feedback and want to respond to issues you see. Continue reading

Posted in Blog | Comments Off