Skip to main content

Mailing Lists

This page lists the mailing lists used by the IAB for discussion and announcements. Other discussion lists can also be found on the IETF webpage. All non-working group mailing lists, including IAB mailing lists, are listed in the IETF datatracker.

Besides a small set of IAB maintained discussion lists, the IAB also provides a public mailing list for each Technical Program (see below) and usually creates a separate list for each workshop that is active until the workshop report has been published.

For internal discussion, the IAB uses its mailing list. While this list and its archives are not public, everybody is invited to send mail to this address in order to engage in a direct communication with the IAB or to provide feedback to the IAB. This mailing list includes all voting IAB members, the IRTF Chair (Colin Perkins), the IETF Executive Director (Jay Daley), the IETF Director of Communications and Operations (Greg Wood), Secretariat staff (Cindy Morgan, Liz Flynn), the IESG Liaison (John Scudder), the ISOC Liaisons (Sally Wentworth, Olaf Kolkman), and the Tools Liaison (Robert Sparks).

Similarly the IAB Chair can be reached under

The IAB is responsible for the IETF's liaison management. This responsibility is performed by IAB-selected liaison managers as well as the liaison coordinator role within the IAB. The liaison coordinators can be reached under

List moderation

IAB mailing lists are moderated to ensure there are no inappropriate postings. Inappropriate postings consist of: spam and bulk e-mail; unprofessional commentary, regardless of subject; and mail with content unrelated to technical discussion or other topics related to the IAB and the IETF. The moderators are empowered to restrict a person's ability to post to the list and to request that a particular discussion thread cease when the content is inappropriate and represents a pattern of abuse. Complaints regarding a decision or action of a list's moderator should be referred to the IAB chair.

The current moderators for the architecture-discuss list are Dhruv Dhody and Suresh Krishnan. For program-specific lists, the program chairs act as moderators.

IAB discussion lists

The architecture-discuss list serves as a technical discussion forum for all members of the IETF community that are interested in larger architectural issues. It is meant to be an open discussion forum for all long and/or wide range architectural concerns related to the Internet Architecture. In particular, it may be used to discuss and bring forth different points of view on controversial architectural questions. Discussions that drill down and dwell on specifics of individual protocols or technologies are to be discouraged, redirected to appropriate other fora, or re-cast to discussions of broader implications for Internet architecture.

This is an IAB-sponsored activity. IAB members participate as individuals and not representatives of the IAB. Community discussion of IAB activities and programs occurs on architecture-discuss, but messages for IAB business should still be directed to

This list is for open discussion of internationalization in the Internet architecture.

Program mailing lists

Evolvability, Deployability, & Maintainability (Proposed) Program: The IAB is discussing formation of an IAB program on this topic. For the present this list is for initial informal discussions on Evolvability, Deployability, & Maintainability.

The E-Impact Program is a venue for discussing environmental impacts and sustainability of Internet technology. Within this scope, the program looks at trends, issues, improvement opportunities, ideas, best practices, and subsequent direction of work related to Internet technology, architecture, and operations, including visibility and efficiency on energy and other environmentally-impacting attributes. In particular, the group focuses on Internet architecture's role in these topics.