Internet Architecture Board


IAB Appointments and Confirmations

Home»Activities»IAB Appointments and Confirmations

As part of its chartered oversight role in RFC 2850: Charter of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB), the IAB makes appointments and confirmations to other various bodies.

Role Description More Information Current Appointment(s)
Community Coordination Group (CCG) The IAB appoints three members to the CCG on behalf of the IETF. RFC 8090: Appointment Procedures for the IETF Representatives to the Community Coordination Group (CCG)
  • Russ Housley (2017-2019)
  • Barry Leiba (2017-2019)
  • TBD (2018-2020)
IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group (ICG) In 2014, the IAB appointed two members to represent the IAB. (Note that the IESG also appointed two members to represent the IETF.) NTIA IANA Functions’ Stewardship Transition
  • Russ Housley
  • Lynn St Amour
ICANN Board of Directors Liaison The IAB appoints one non-voting liaison to the ICANN Board of Directors on behalf of the IETF. Bylaws for Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, Article VI, Section 9
  • Jonne Soininen, 2013-2018
ICANN Root Zone Evolution Review Committee (RZERC) The IAB appoints one member to the ICANN RZERC on behalf of the IETF.
  • Jim Reid, 2016-2018
ICANN NomCom The IAB appoints one voting delegate to the ICANN NomCom on behalf of the IETF. The delegate shall serve a one-year term. A delegate may serve at most two successive one-year terms, after which at least two years must elapse before the individual is eligible to serve another term. Bylaws for Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, Article VII
  • Ole Jacobsen, 2018
ICANN Technical Liaison Group (TLG) The IAB appoints these two technical experts to the ICANN TLG on behalf of the IETF. The IAB has not committed itself to a particular process for selection, and ICANN Bylaws do not impose any constraints on this process. Bylaws for Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, Article XI-A, Section 2
  • Paul Wouters, 2015-2019
  • Tim Wicinski, 2018-2020
IESG Confirmation The IAB acts as the confirming body for the IESG slate chosen by the IETF NomCom. RFC 7437: IAB, IESG, and IAOC Selection, Confirmation, and Recall Process: Operation of the Nominating and Recall Committees See IESG Members for full details.
IETF  Administrative Oversight Committee (IAOC) In alternate years, the IESG and the IAB each select one person for a two-year IAOC term. RFC 4071: Structure of the IETF Administrative Support Activity (IASA)
  • Kaveh Ranjbar, 2017-2019
IETF Liaison Managers The IAB acts as representative of the interests of the IETF and the Internet Society in technical liaison relationships with other organizations concerned with standards and other technical and organizational issues relevant to the world-wide Internet. RFC 4052: IAB Processes for Management of IETF Liaison Relationships See IETF Liaison Managers for full details.
Independent Submissions Editor (ISE) The ISE is appointed by and is responsible directly to the IAB. RFC 6548: Independent Submission Editor Model
  • Adrian Farrel 2018-2020
Internet Society Board of Trustees (ISOC BOT) The IAB appoints four Trustees to the ISOC BoT, with staggered 3-year terms. Amended and restated By-Laws of the Internet Society
  • Richard Barnes, 2016-2019
  • Gonzalo Camarillo, 2015-2021
  • John Levine, 2015-2021
  • Sean Turner, 2014-2020
Internet Research Task Force (IRTF) Chair The IAB appoints the IRTF Chair for a two-year renewable term. The IRTF Chair is an ex-officio member of the IAB. RFC 2850: Charter of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB)
  • Allison Mankin, 2017-2019
RFC Series Editor (RSE) The RSE is appointed by the IAB, but formally hired by the IAOC. RFC 6635: RFC Editor Model (Version 2)
  • Heather Flanagan, January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2019
RFC Series Oversight Committee (RSOC) The size and terms of the RSOC are determined at the discretion of the IAB. RFC 6635: RFC Editor Model (Version 2) See RFC Editor Program: The RSOC for full details.